Grafton Public School Board

The School Board of Grafton Public Schools invites you to its meetings. Regular meetings of the board are held once a month, generally on the second Tuesday at 7:30 a.m. Your attendance is welcome and appreciated. If you have questions regarding the School Board, contact Superintendent Darren Albrecht by email or by phone at 701-352-1930.

The Board

There are seven school board members. The terms are three years long. There is no limit to the number of terms a Board Member may serve. The election is typically held the second Tuesday in June or in conjunction with county elections. Board members receive a $80 compensation per regular board meeting and a $50 compensation per committee meeting.

Donald Suda, Chad Bigwood, and Jayce Schumacher will be up for reelection in June 2023.

The Board elects officers at the annual meeting in July. Officers include President and Vice President.

Current Board Members:

Donald Suda, President

Maggie Suda

Trina Papenfuss

Jen Thompson

Chad Bigwood

Nathan Green

Jayce Schumacher

The Role of the Board

The School Board is the policy-making body for the school district. They set policies for management of the district that the superintendent and the district staff then carry out. The School Board approves the budget, establishes goals and priorities, acquires and disposes of property, serves as a link between the school system and the public, and interprets educational needs and concerns of the community. In addition to attending board meetings, Board Members serve as liaisons to various district and non-district committees.

The School Board acts officially only as a corporate group. An individual School Board member has no authority outside of a formally called Board meeting. No one acts in the name of the Board except when authorized by the Board to do so.

Public Participation

A scheduled time for public participation has been placed on the agenda at GPS Board of Education general meetings. The Board desires to hear the viewpoints of citizens throughout the district. Individuals wishing to address the Board are requested to make arrangements with the Board President or the Superintendent prior to the meeting. Comments should be made to the Board and not to individuals in the audience and be related to school operations and programs. The Board will not hear personal complaints against any person connected with the school district. Comments must address topics that are on the agenda. If a citizen would like to add a topic to the school board agenda, arrangements must be made no later than Thursday prior to the meeting. The Board reserves the right to eliminate or restrict the time allowed for public participation. The Board requests that comments are limited to five (5) minutes or less. Groups of individuals addressing a common concern are asked to designate a spokesperson.


Budget, Finance, Auditing and Negotiations

Donald Suda, Chair

Jennifer Thompson

Trina Papenfuss

Buildings and Grounds, Transportation and Technology

Nathan Green, Chair

Chad Bigwood

Jayce Schumacher

Policy, Public Relations and Relations with Area Schools

Jennifer Thompson, Chair

Trina Papenfuss

Strategic Planning, Goal Setting and School Improvement

Chad Bigwood, Chair

Donald Suda

North Valley Career and Tech Ed Board

Maggie Suda, Chair

Nathan Green (alternate)

Greenhouse & Ag Foundation

Maggie Suda

Donald Suda

Grafton School Board Minutes & Bills

Grafton School Board Uses and Policies